See a great deal of new and old Toyota car and truck content at the rest of Toyoland!

1999 corolla
Read 4161 times
April 20, 2008, 1:17 PM
Hi I am new to this. This message is for Dave. Just wondering if you got any better gas mileage after installing the blankets over the exhaust manifolds and what was the difference. I have a 1999 toyota corolla, 3 speed auto, no over drive and I get about 25 -30mpg. Gas is now $3.54 per gal in Jacksonville FL and I am wanting better fuel economy. I do the regular maintanance, correct air pressure, rotate tires every 3k miles, oil change every 3k miles, align every 3-5k miles, just replaced serpentine belt, installed k&n air filter. etc.

April 20, 2008, 3:05 PM#1
The best way to up your mileage to 38 is with a five-speed stick, but since this generally involves replacing the entire car, I'd understand if you didnt want to go that route. I personally found that gas mileage rose a trifle when I overinflated the front tires by 2 psi - improved cornering slightly too. K&N air filter, long term, is harmful - it'll take over 50,000 miles for any damage to occur, though. It lets in some very fine, hard particles that will end up wearing the valve guides, or so I'm told by people in the industry who have examined them. I might be able to dig up some research reports on 'em.

April 21, 2008, 12:16 AM#2
Hi Dave if that is so for the K &N air filter I guess my engine is toast. I have had it in about 60k miles and the car has 140k miles. Is the damage already done? Should I switch back to regular filters? What about the inline fuel filter? I went to autozone and they do not even show a listing for it. Is this a dealer item only? My fuel filter is a very small black canister next to a green valve for vapor lock.

April 21, 2008, 2:02 PM#3